What can I expect from my Municipality?

In this video we explain the powers, functions and focus areas of municipalities. It sets out what services and service standards we can expect from municipalities and what limits their ability to deliver services.

Section 152 of the Constitution sets out the five focus areas of Municipalities:

1. Provide democratic and accountable government.

2. Provide services in a sustainable manner.

3. Promote social and economic development.

4. Promote a safe and healthy environment.

5. Encourage the involvement of communities.

According to the Municipal Systems Act, a basic service is one that ensures an acceptable and reasonable quality of life with regards to water, sewage, refuse removal, roads and stormwater control, electricity, housing and firefighting.

Service delivery is limited when national or provincial government delegate their responsibilities to the local spheres through “unfunded mandates”. Other limits include a shortage of income due to service user’s non-payment, government grants being too little and poor financial management. Other factors include a lack of suitable land, poor cooperation within spheres of government or being in a remote location. Practical circumstances also can limit service delivery.

Give us your feedback