What are Elected Representatives in Zimbabwe?

In this video we look at the role and functions of elected representatives on national, provincial, and local level of government in Zimbabwe. This video is part of the Civics Academy Election Series for Zimbabwe.

Zimbabwe has three types of elected representatives. 

1. Elected representatives on national level 

In a democracy, voters elect members of Parliament, also called MPs, to represent their interests on national level. MPs provide a crucial link between government and the people. Because MPs are elected representatives, they must act in the public interest. This means that their mandates are temporary and that they are accountable to voters. Voters do not have to re-elect them if they are not good public representatives or if they do not deliver on their promises. 

In Zimbabwe, Parliament has two houses, or chambers, the National Assembly and the Senate. The National Assembly currently has 270 MPs while the Senate has 80. We explain the structure and functions of parliament in more detail in our Civics Academy for Zimbabwe video: “What is the Legislature?”. MPs sit in Parliament as either members of a political party if they were elected on a party ticket or, as independent MPs if they were elected in their individual capacity. 

2. Elected representatives on provincial level 

The Constitution of Zimbabwe requires the election of representatives that sit in each of the eight provincial councils and two metropolitan councils. But at the time when this video was made (2022), these Councils had not yet been established. Once they are established, the number of representatives in these councils will differ across the ten provinces depending on how many mayors and chairpersons from local government each province has. We explain this aspect in more detail in our Civics Academy video “How does the Electoral System work in Zimbabwe?” 

3. Elected representatives on local level

Zimbabwe also has elected representatives at the local level of government, called councillors. Currently, we only have ward councillors who are elected to represent specific wards and are accountable directly to the people living in that area. But the Constitution has now opened the door for councillors elected through the proportional representation system (PR). These PR councillors, who may only be women, are elected through their political parties.

Give us your feedback

Share this